The Meaning of Blood – Forthcoming in Print, EBook and Audiobook

follow link Sixteen Tales of Dark, Transgressive Fiction for fans of Chuck Palahniuk, Elmore Leonard, and Edgar Allan Poe.

Release date: 21 November 2018

Author: Chuck Caruso

ISBN (PB): 978-19995873-0-7

Description

In a near-future Pacific Northwest, a made-to-order sex robot tests a married couple’s concept of fidelity; in the Tennessee hills of 19th-century America, an itinerant preacher forces others to prove their devotion to God — at gunpoint; and in a settlement town of the Old West, a former outlaw seeking to rescue his deceased brother’s family from a life of poverty discovers to his horror the true meaning of blood.

In The Meaning of Blood and Other Tales of Perversity, Chuck Caruso combines his deep roots in the American Gothic with his own contemporary sense of macabre humor. These stories range from crime thrillers to western noir to grotesque horror. Each twisted tale displays Caruso’s unique blend of wry prose, feverish storytelling, and tragically-flawed characters discovering that even the most innocent encounter can lead to death. Or sex. Or both. This collection is sure to appeal to fans of Chuck Palahniuk, Elmore Leonard, and Poe.

Release date: 21 November 2018

Author: Chuck Caruso

ISBN (PB): 978-19995873-0-7

Reviews

  1. Cloud Lodge Books

    “A lethal cocktail of hardboiled noir, gothic horror and more.” —Paul D. Brazill, author of Last Year’s Man and A Case of Noir

  2. Cloud Lodge Books

    “The Meaning of Blood screams (and I mean screams!) Edgar Allan Poe. Caruso is more than a Poe expert. He’s practically Poe reincarnated, channeling the master’s dark spirit to create stories that feel both ominously gothic and totally fresh.” —Steve Hockensmith, author of the New York Times bestseller Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls

  3. Cloud Lodge Books

    “Chuck Caruso’s The Meaning of Blood promises a descent into a netherworld of blood and perversity, and it delivers on this as well as something even more heinous: the idea that ordinary people crave blood and perversity just as much as violent perverts.” —Foreword Reviews

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *