Water & Glass Available – Now Available in Print and EBook

source link LONGLISTED FOR THE GUARDIAN 2018 NOT THE BOOKER PRIZE

get link Dystopian Thriller for fans of Margaret Atwood, Kim Stanley Robinson and Patrick Ness

click here Publication date: 21 November 2017

Author: Abi Curtis

ISBN (HB): 978-0-9954657-5-6

Description

LONGLISTED FOR THE GUARDIAN 2018 NOT THE BOOKER PRIZE

In the lower depths of a massive submarine, ship’s zoologist Nerissa Crane takes an ultrasound of a heavily pregnant Asian elephant. The elephant conceived off-ship but, it transpires, was forced on board – along with Nerissa and a hastily assembled collection of humans and animals – by an apocalyptic environmental disaster that has flooded the earth. Nerissa is calm and solitary in her work and in navigating the trauma of her husband’s presumed death in the floods; but when one of her animal charges escapes, she is reluctantly forced to enter the ship’s thrown-together communal world where she uncovers a shocking conspiracy that causes her to question who and what she is. Water & Glass is a thrilling dystopian tale about human nature – and the animal world – under great pressure and in enclosed spaces.

ENDORSEMENT

“Speculative fiction is nothing without a beating heart, something real and human (or animal) at stake, and Water & Glass has this in boatloads. On every page Curtis combines a poet’s eye for the perfect, resonant detail with a blockbuster’s suspense and delivery on story. As beautifully surreal and symbolic as it gets, there’s something unshakeably, alarmingly plausible about this novel and its dramatisation of the next century: what we stand to lose and what may already be too late to save. An urgent, gorgeously written debut.” –Luke Kennard, award winning author of The Transition

Release date: 30 November 2017

Author: Abi Curtis

ISBN (HB): 978-0-9954657-5-6

Reviews

  1. Cloud Lodge Books

    “There’s something unshakably, alarmingly plausible about this novel and its dramatisation of the next century: what we stand to lose and what may already be too late to save. An urgent, gorgeously written debut.” –Luke Kennard, award winning author of The Transition

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *